Government has set up a Commission of Inquiry into the events of last Thursday’s Ayawso West Wuogon by-election.

The Commission, chaired by Justice Emile Short, has been tasked among other things “to make a full, faithful and impartial inquiry into the circumstances of, and establish the facts leading to the events and associated violence” of the by-election.

The report, the statement said, should contain the findings of the Commission, recommendations, as well as include appropriate sanctions, if any.

Other members of the Commission are Mr Ernest Kofi Abotsi, former Dean of the Faculty of Law of GIMPA; Secretary, Mrs Henrientta Mensah Bonsu and Mr Patrick K. Acheampong; Members.